Explainers
What Happened at Great Wolf Lodge in the Poconos? The Case Explained
Status as of Oct. 22, 2026, 11:55 AM PT. Court dates can change. Check the date on our Court Calendar and see its “last updated” date.
Charles Harrison, 36, and his 3-year-old son died at the Great Wolf Lodge in Scotrun, Pennsylvania, on Monday, Oct. 12, 2026. The coroner’s office ruled both deaths homicides. His wife, Metallica Harrison, 27, is charged with two counts of criminal homicide. She is presumed innocent, and no plea is on the court docket. [1][2][3][4]
Her next court date is a preliminary hearing on Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2026, at 1 p.m. Eastern at the Monroe County Courthouse in Stroudsburg. [4]
Who died at Great Wolf Lodge?
Charles Harrison was 36. His son was 3 years old. NEP does not name the child. The family lived in Towanda, Pennsylvania. [3][5]
Officials were called to the resort in Pocono Township, Monroe County, at about 3:13 p.m. that Monday. [1][2]
We could not verify Charles Harrison’s hometown or the details of any public vigil, so we have left them out.
What happened, in plain words?
The coroner’s office ruled both deaths homicides. [3] That is a ruling on how they died. It is not a finding about who is responsible. Only a court can decide that.
Monroe County District Attorney Mike Mancuso called it a “violent domestic tragedy.” Pocono Township police said, “This case is an isolated domestic tragedy and there is no threat to the community.” [2]
Great Wolf Lodge called it “an isolated family incident” and said it is “cooperating fully with local law enforcement.” [1] The resort is not accused of anything.
Who is charged, and with what?
Metallica Harrison, 27, is charged with two counts of criminal homicide. [1] The court docket lists two counts under 18 Pa.C.S. § 2501, with an offense date of Oct. 12, 2026. [4]
In Pennsylvania, “criminal homicide” is a broad charge. The law says a person commits it if they “intentionally, knowingly, recklessly or negligently” cause the death of another person. It is then “classified as murder, voluntary manslaughter, or involuntary manslaughter.” [6] Which of those applies, if any, is decided later in the case. No court has made that decision.
Some news reports describe claims that relatives made to police, quoted in a search-warrant affidavit. [5] Those are claims. They are not proof, and they have not been tested in court. Prosecutors have not stated a motive in public.
Is she in jail? Does she have a lawyer?
Bail was denied at her first court appearance on Oct. 13. She is in custody in Monroe County. [3][4] Denying bail is a ruling about custody. It is not a finding of guilt.
In mid-October, news reports said court records listed no lawyer for her. [1][3] We have not verified who represents her now.
When is the next court date?
The preliminary hearing is set for Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2026, at 1 p.m. Eastern at the Monroe County Courthouse in Stroudsburg. The judge listed on the docket is Magisterial District Judge Daniel Kresge. [4]
It was first set for Oct. 21. Monroe County President Judge Jonathan Mark granted the state’s request to move it to the courthouse on Nov. 3. [7] The Oct. 21 date now shows as “Continued” on the docket.
Some earlier listings showed other dates. When we read the court docket on Oct. 22, Nov. 3 was the only upcoming event listed. [4]
What is a preliminary hearing?
A preliminary hearing is not a trial. It does not decide guilt.
Under Pennsylvania’s court rules, the judge decides “whether there is a prima facie case.” That means: is there enough evidence that a crime happened and that the accused person may have done it? The rule also says hearsay (something a witness heard from someone else) can be enough to prove any part of the charge at this stage. [8]
So a judge can send a case forward even though no jury has heard it. That does not mean the case has been proven.
What happens after the hearing?
If the judge finds a prima facie case, the charges are “held for court.” The case then moves to the Monroe County Court of Common Pleas. There, prosecutors file the formal charges, and she would be formally arraigned. A plea is usually entered at that step.
If the judge finds the evidence is not enough for a charge, that charge can be dismissed.
Either way, Nov. 3 is not a verdict.
Will prosecutors seek the death penalty?
No death-penalty notice has been reported. Talk of it so far came from a private investigator, not from the district attorney. [9]
Under Pennsylvania’s rules, if prosecutors want to seek the death penalty, they must file a notice “at or before the time of arraignment.” There are two exceptions: facts they learn later, or more time the court allows. [10]
Can I watch the hearing?
Not on camera. Pennsylvania’s court rules bar photos, video and recording of criminal court proceedings. [11]
You can follow the case on the Pennsylvania court portal. The docket numbers are MJ-43303-CR-0000313-2026 and CP-45-MD-0000755-2026. [4]
What is still unknown?
- Who her lawyer is now
- Whether she will enter a plea, and what it will be
- The courtroom for Nov. 3
- Any motive. Prosecutors have not stated one in public.
- Whether prosecutors will seek the death penalty
Quick answers
Did someone die at Great Wolf Lodge in the Poconos? Yes. Charles Harrison, 36, and his 3-year-old son died there on Oct. 12, 2026. The coroner ruled both deaths homicides.
Who is charged in the Great Wolf Lodge case? Metallica Harrison, 27, Charles Harrison’s wife. She is charged with two counts of criminal homicide and is presumed innocent.
Has Metallica Harrison entered a plea? No plea is on the court docket as of Oct. 22.
When is Metallica Harrison’s preliminary hearing? Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2026, at 1 p.m. Eastern at the Monroe County Courthouse in Stroudsburg. Court dates can change.
Is there a threat to the public? Police said there is “no threat to the community.”
Keep track of this case
Court dates move. See the Nov. 3 hearing and its source on our Court Calendar, and check its “last updated” date.
Get free case alerts: sign up at cassiancreed.beehiiv.com.
Sources
- NBC Philadelphia, Oct. 14, 2026 (updated Oct. 16)
- 6abc, Oct. 13, 2026 (updated Oct. 14)
- FOX56, Oct. 16, 2026 (updated Oct. 19) · ABC News, Oct. 14, 2026
- Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System web portal, docket MJ-43303-CR-0000313-2026, docket sheet printed Oct. 22, 2026
- WVIA, Oct. 16, 2026 · ABC News, Oct. 14, 2026
- 18 Pa.C.S. § 2501, Pennsylvania General Assembly
- NorthcentralPA.com, Oct. 16, 2026
- Pa.R.Crim.P. 542, 234 Pa. Code r. 542
- IBTimes UK
- Pa.R.Crim.P. 802, 234 Pa. Code r. 802
- Pa.R.Crim.P. 112
Victim & Reader Resources — free, confidential help for victims, families, and readers.